

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNA AWARD RECIPIENTS

Began in 1955

| Award Year | Name | Class Year | Area of Distinction |
|---|---|--|--|
| 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965-1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1982 1982 1983 1983 1983 1983 1983 1984 1985 1986 1986 1986 1987 1988 1988 1988 1988 | Gladys McCue Thompson Virginia Alice McClure Dr. Dora Dougherty McKeown Esther Smith Van Soelen Dr. Irma Highbaugh Thelma Crowley Heatwole Dr. Miriam Gray Dr. Antoinette Bardwell Lotsof Jetta Carleton Lyon Jean Gowin Gragg No award Francine Irving Neff LuAn Sabbe Lorenson Dr. Mariana Newton Barbara Halsted Lewis Dr. Barbara Lagerstedt Knudson Ruby Kless Sondock Marilyn Harris Springer Grace Layton Sandness Eleanor Obenhaus Wellborn Ilona Planken Herlinger Esther Smith Van Soelen Carol Littleton Kelly Smith Tunney Mary Moore Plane Martha Barr Liebert Machiko Kashiwagi Mary Louise Hail Williams Marsha Wiley Judy Miao Merry Stover Sister Rita Witt Gayle Shockey Hoxter | 1914 1947 1947 1947 1924 1925 1938 1933 1925 1946 1958 1958 1946 1958 1946 1951 1951 1951 1951 1951 1952 1947 1962 1960 1946 1953 1962 1960 1946 1953 1962 1956 1966 1964 1970 1970 | Aviation Law Author – Missionary Author – Science Education – Physical & Dance Clinical Psychology Author Furrier U.S. Treasurer Law Enforcement Education – Speech & Communication Community Service Criminal Justice Law Author Author Author Author Author Mathor Hor – Medical Technician Education – Musician Law Film Editor Journalism Vinter Librarian Marketing Education Law Enforcement Marketing – International Relations Arts Administration – Business Owner Humanitarian – Missionary in Brazil Dietitian, Editorial Board of Shape Magazine |

| Award Year | Name | Class Year | Area of Distinction |
|--|--|--------------------------------------|--|
| 1991 | JoAnne Youtz McFarland | 1967 | First Woman Appointed to Head a Wyoming Community College |
| 1992 | Rachel Roush Bard | 1941 | Author, consulting editor of Peninsula Magazine |
| 1993 1993 | Sara Norman Miller Janice Sargent Waide | 1942 1953 | Physical Chemist Youth & Adult Services for the State of Kansas Consultant |
| 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 | No award Dr. Beverly Larson Dr. Jenny Nelson Doris Kingsbury Gayzagian No award Janet Brown | 1965 1976 1942 1971 | Education Author – Education Dottey Cottey Creator Law |
| 2000 2001 | Mary Owens Walker Marilyn Speer Hurt | 1975 1966 | Registered Nurse and Nursing Education National Leadership in School Nutrition Programs |
| 2001 Delay | Belinda Hargrove | 1981 | Expert on Airfield/Airspace Capacity and |
| 2002 2003 | Ruth Kelley Hayden Carey Dean Sigler | 1941 1968 | Author, Community Leader Nationally Recognized in Physical Education |
| 2004 | Khelly Webb | 1968 | While recovering from a traumatic brain injury wrote 12 Rules for Living Life. She speaks professionally on brain injury to inspire and educate others. |
| 2005 | Mary Beaty Edelen | 1965 | Former South Dakota State House of Representative, where she served for 18 years. |
| 2006 | Barbara Trombley | 1970 | Business Entrepreneur. Owner of The Art Institute Glitter, Inc |
| 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 | Cindy Phillips Acree Tara Dean Stuart Julie Beshore Bliss Susan Carlson Dr. Susan Krauter | 1977 1952 1964 1970 1969 | Law Education Education Law Hospice and palliative care physician; 28 mission trips to Guatemala |
| 2012 2013 | Julie Hunsaker Grandi Dr. Mary Beth Zimmerman Nancy Elston Bogart | 1961 1962 1988 | Space defense aerospace Nurse Educator and Administrator Founder and C.E.O. of direct selling company for women |
| 2014 | Robin McClellan | 1979 | Dir. Of Minerals Research Initiatives at Curtin Univ., Perth, Australia; prior U.S. Diplomatic Service missions in India, Australia, Malaysia, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, Mexico, and D.C. |

| Award Year | Name | Class Year | Area of Distinction |
|---------------|-------------------------------|---------------|---|
| 2015 | Dr. Mary Beth Garrison McAfee | 1960 | Exec. Dir. of Great Old Broads for Wilderness Established Bridge Emergency Shelter in Cortez, Colorado |
| 2015 | llse Gebhard | 1960 | Medicinal Research Chemist for Upjohn Company, Kalamazoo, MI; member of Kalamazoo Area Wild Ones and former Board of Directors for the Audubon Society of Kalamazoo |
| 2016 | Shirley Bush Helzberg | 1961 | Philanthropist, Community Leader, Co- Founder of University Academy |
| 2017 | Dr. Ann Marie Pendergast | 1977 | International Leader in Cancer Research |
| 2018 | Sharon Mathers Secor | 1970 | Humanitarian Service in Kenya |
| 2019 | Amy McCamish Eckhoff | 1994 | Architect for Rodgers Fine Arts Building, Renovation of P.E.O. Parlor, Chapel/Student Center |
| 2020 | Christine Fuller Scheuneman | 1970 | Law, nonprofit governance, Cottey College Board of Trustees |
| 2021 | Morgan Shaw Parker | 1996 | Marketing |
| 2022 | Kandis Green Barker | 1977 | Education |
| 2023 | Rayito Lopez Stephens | 1986 | Law, Real Estate |
| 2024 | Jen Wren Charpentier | 1964 | Pediatric Nurse Practitioner |