Opening Convocation Livestream

Watch the 139th Opening of the College ceremony live. Saturday, August 20 at 7 p.m.


Learn More

String Quartet Opus 76 to Perform on Feb. 28

Date Posted: February 14, 2019 Author: Steve Reed

String quartet Opus 76 will perform on Thursday, February 28, at 7 p.m. in the Missouri Recital Hall on the Cottey College campus. The performance is free and no tickets are required.

Opus 76 is composed of violinist Keith Stanfield, Cottey College adjunct instructor of music (strings), who founded the group with violinist Zsolt Eder, violist Ashley Stanfield and cellist Sascha Groschang. The group focuses primarily on the works of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven, which have formed the core of the string quartet “canon” for two centuries. (“Opus 76” refers to a set of six Haydn quartets published in 1799 that are considered a foundational bedrock of the genre.)

At the Cottey concert, Opus 76 will be playing Haydn op.76 no. 3 “Emperor” and Beethoven op.95 “Serioso”

Opus 76 has its own You Tube channel, which can be found at

The Recital Hall is inside the Haidee and Allen Wild Center for the Arts on the northeast corner of Austin and Tower streets in Nevada, Missouri.

Steve Reed

About the author

Steve Reed