Cottey Leadership

A Message From President Jann Weitzel

Jann Weitzel, PhD

Welcome to Cottey College, an institution with a 130+ year commitment to the education of women. At Cottey, our entire community, including faculty, staff, alumnae, and the P.E.O. Sisterhood, ensures that our students are a priority — supported and inspired throughout the entirety of their Cottey experience.

Cottey College is a challenging, independent, liberal arts and sciences all-women’s college focused on transforming students into the leaders they have the potential to become. Our highly qualified and accessible staff and faculty members are committed to academic excellence and doing all that it takes to help our students succeed.

Alongside the College’s rigorous academic curriculum, its strong programs in the arts and athletics, and a wide variety of campus honor and social organizations, Cottey maintains a focus on leadership that permeates throughout our campus. Our three tenets of experiential learning, social responsibility and global awareness are imparted through academic programs and resources, as well as the Serenbetz Institution for Leadership, in order to challenge and enhance the lives of our students.

Our mission is to educate women as contributing members of a global society, but what students receive leads to so much more. Cottey not only gives our students an invaluable college experience, but also gives them impactful life experiences that will prepare them for their incredible futures.

Jann Weitzel, Ph.D.
President, Cottey College

President’s Council

Jann Rudd Weitzel, Ph.D.

Vice President for Academic Affairs
Joann Bangs, Ph.D.

Vice President for Administration and Finance
Amy Ruetten

Vice President for Institutional Advancement
Sherri Taylor

Vice President for Student Life
Landon Adams, Ed.D.

Interim Vice President for Enrollment Management
JoEllen Lindner

Executive Director of Marketing and Communication
Beth Hammock

Executive Assistant to the President/Secretary to the Board
Tricia Bobbett

Chair of the Faculty
Jo Byrnes

Board of Trustees

Gary Cox, Kentucky

Grace Chalker, Ohio

Christine Scheuneman, California

Kathryn Bayne, Maryland
James Bickel, Missouri
Cheryl Denslow, Colorado
Georgann Douglas, Texas
Tamara Kenworthy, Iowa
Sandra Laney, Washington
Diann McChesney, Connecticut
Hope Zoeller, Kentucky

Ex-Officio Members
Sue Baker, Ohio
Brenda Atchison, California

We’d Love to Hear From You